The Ganga River system

⑴ Source:
The headwaters of the Ganga is the Bhagirathi. It is fed by the Gangotri Glacier and joined by the Alaknanda and Devprayag in Uttaranchal.

At Haridwar, Ganga emerges from the mountains to the plains.

⑵ Himalayan tributaries:
The Jamuna, the Ghagra, the Gandak, and the Kosi.

These rivers cause widespread floods in the Northern Plains every year and cause widespread damage to life and property. But the rivers also enrich the soil for agriculture.

⑶ Peninsular tributaries:
Chambal, Betwa and the Son rise from semi-arid areas and have short courses. They do not carry much water with them.

The Ganga flows eastwards till Farakka in West Bengal, which is the northern most point of the Ganga delta.

The main stream flows southwards into Bangladesh and is joined by the Brahmaputra.

The Ganga and the Brahmaputra flow into the Bay of Bengal and form the world's largest and fastest growing Delta known as the Sundarbans delta.

The length of the Ganga is over 2500 km. Ambala is located on the water divide between the Indus and the Ganga river systems.

The gradient slope of the river is very gentle, a fall off just 1 metre for every 6 km. Therefore the river develops large meanders.

--- >>>


Drainage - Notes
1. Drainage patterns formed by the streams
Show Notes
2. The Ganga River system
Show Notes
3. The Indus River system
Show Notes
4. The Brahmaputra River System
Show Notes